top of page

Time, Space, & Energy


 

Learning

 

Author: Katie Edwards, Beaumont, CA, United States

 

The coronavirus and the resulting Shelter in Place practice has been immensely freeing. It has created a source of energy for me. Not having to be at work, attend meetings, extracurricular functions, eat or recreate outside of the home; has created large blocks of time and space to do other activities.

I have had the physical and mental space to reflect on all things taking up space. Space taken up in my brain, heart, body and home. I have purged 20 years worth of files, journals going even further back, clothing and furniture not my own; acquired from someone else, kept for sentimental reasons. Time to learn new ways of moving on trails through mountains to inside my living room. I’m experiencing Qi Gong, a mind-body-spirit exercise that focuses on developing the body’s vital energy.

My mantra has become, “Can I use this space for something better?”

I now have an open room where sunlight flows through and my dog lies as I work. I now have space in my library to write journals of poetry, thanksgiving and dreams in place of loss and regrets. I now have a new form of exercise that has made a different journey through life possible. I now have energy for that journey.


bottom of page