top of page

Coronavirus: How it changed my life


 

Love

 

Author: Karla Edwards, Santa Clarita, CA

 

Being confined to my condo has been a new, confusing, and challenging experience.

I belong to a church which provides a network of events other than a Sunday Church Service: book discussion and potluck, poetry writing and sharing, dine around – (out to dinner once a month), monthly potluck and movie discussion meeting, as well as Child & Family Auxiliary. Now all of these events aren’t happening, although a few have set up a ZOOM which hasn’t worked at all for me (yet). A birthday party for my great granddaughter Clementine took place on Zoom and I was able to attend that on-line with the help of my son Karl.

When I wasn’t involved in any of these, I looked forward to going to Vallarta market, Smart & Final, 99 Cent store, and Rite Aid. Visits to these places always provided conversations with strangers who spoke to me…one commenting on my pretty hair, another on my smile, and many offers to help me load groceries in my car. Shopping was an “ego trip” and a day brightener, which I miss a LOT!

The most amazing experience is the kindness, generosity, and consideration shown to me by my family and friends: my kids and granddaughters making sure that I stay safe by not going out in public by sending books, doing grocery shopping, checking in via phone and Gmail. Two members of the Condo Complex have provided home-made masks for me, and others living down the hallway from me check in from time to time to see if I need anything. Even the complex janitor and his wife are making sure all is well with me.

I can’t help but wonder what “depression” looks like. When I wake up each morning with nowhere to go and nothing that has to be done, I lay in bed and look out the window, watching crows zoom by, little birds hopping around, a squirrel that always appears on the same tree branch, and most interesting, huge sycamore trees swaying in the wind. I watched all the leaves fall off the trees (poor gardeners!!) and new leaves appear. Some of them are falling off already.


What the most amazing experience I have witnessed is the incredible creativity of people everywhere. Each day, I receive a video, a poem, music, or items that are “laugh out loud”. Feels SO good to laugh and it is so much fun to send these wonderful items along to my family and friends. Creativity is spreading faster than the virus!

bottom of page